Bravery is being the only one who knows you’re afraid

Peter
2 min readApr 5, 2020
Photo by Elijah Hiett on Unsplash

I like a good quote. I found myself playing on Civ 6 tody and it is packed full of quotes, whenever something is researched, the narrator reads a quote and nearly every one of them had me thinking.

A lot of the time, I feel quite alone. I feel alone because mental health can be very inward, something that only you can see. Despite the horrible thoughts that are going around your head, feeling absolutely terrible on the inside, a lot of the time no-one else can see what is happening. It is nice that I am able to keep myself under control, but when people don’t know hat I am going through it can get quite frustrating!

What this is, though is the ultimate show of bravery and it is something that people will not reward you for. When you do something amazing and people know about it, people will often be very pleased for you. When they don’t know the significance of what you are going through, it might be difficult for them to realise just how far you have come.

So I will say that, while it is not easy to go through the issues that we face, especially when people don’t realise how hard it is, you know how hard it is and you are extremely brave for facing it when nobody else knows what you are going through.

--

--